i’ve actually found a conditioner bar to love

One of my many sustainability quests is to go plastic-free in my daily beauty and wellness routine, which means I have tried MANY shampoo and conditioner bars.

Funnily enough, the Lush shampoo bar that I have written about in a past blog post is still one of my favorite shampoo bars, but the Lush conditioner bars didn’t make my hair feel silky smooth like traditional conditioners. Enter the litany of conditioner bars that have graced my shower.

I’ll save you the long sob story and just share the two fabulous conditioner bars that I’ve been using regularly, but you should know that both of these bars are the ONLY conditioner bars that have given my hair that silky smooth conditioned feeling that is so lovely.

PRO TIP: what I have learned with any conditioner bar is that it helps to brush it through your hair while you are in the shower. I now keep a small brush in my shower for this reason. Working it through the hair lathers it up in such a way that helps the whole process…. I honestly don’t totally know why, but it does.

The first of the conditioner bars is from the company Soap Cauldron, which is a local company from Sonoma County. Their products are handcrafted in small batches and are free from synthetics, as well as silicone free, paraben free, cruelty free and they have sustainable packaging. They are sold at the Sacramento Natural Food Co-op, which I love because I can pick it up locally instead of having it shipped to me. However, if you don’t live locally and still want to try it out, you can buy online!

They have three different formulas: one for straight and thick hair, one for fine hair, and one for curly and wavy hair, and they all smell incredible.

They also have a sampler box if you want to experiment to find your perfect formula!

The other conditioner bar I’ve been loving is from Viori, whose products are made from longsheng rice and are inspired by the ancient haircare rituals of the Red Yao Tribe in China. This is a company my friend who does my hair told me about after hearing a lot about it in the hair community. Their hair care products are made with natural ingredients, sulfate free, paraben free, cruelty free, sustainably made, are vegan, and of course, don’t use plastic in their packaging.

They have three scents, Citrus Yao (citrus), Terrace Garden (floral), Hidden Waterfall (musk), and an unscented bar, Native Essence. I got the Terrace Garden scent and it smells like Jasmine!!

Shampoo bars could be a whole other post, but I will just mention really fast that I have also been loving their shampoo bars as well.

If you are interested in trying a conditioner bar, I hope you find this helpful! Let me know if you want more info on sustainable health and beauty products.

All my love,

Leave a comment